Review of For You, Rowena (Kindra M. Austin) – Kristiana Reed

For You Rowena

Austin made a gorgeous debut with Magpie in August so when asked to read and review For You, Rowena I was filled with excitement and trepidation. I imagine Austin is too, as her second novel releases, a dark departure from her first.

There is little I can say which won’t spoil the narrative of this 194-page thriller and that is what makes it such a glorious read. It is the kind of book I want to watch somebody else read. I want to watch another experience goosebumps like I did and fall down Austin’s rabbit hole of deadly love and lust.

Despite being her second novel, Austin continues to prove she is a master of her craft. She twists characters and narratives like locks of hair and runs them like ribbon through her hands; her writer’s hands which know exactly when to make you smile or when to drop your heart into your belly. This isn’t a conventional story and nor is it told in a conventional way. Austin takes risks every time she tells a story and I think that is how she so expertly captures the essence of the story itself. We are human because we have the tendency to throw caution to the wind and risk it all. Thus, For You, Rowena is brimming with humanity and its unconditional love and its cruelty. It is both perfectly constructed and unsettling.

Austin also introduces us to two female characters who are even more complex than Magpie and Lynette from Magpie in August. Rowena and Mara could have been written as one dimensional femme fatales. Instead, Austin gives us two women that change our feelings about them multiple times. They are not made of all things nice, sugar and spice. Mara speaks like she has shards of broken glass in her mouth and Rowena speaks like honey but cries like a cat mewling into the wind.

I fear if I say anymore I will spill all. I will hold my tongue and simply say, you will fall in love with For You, Rowena’s darkness and when you do, I want you to imagine me saying ‘I told you so.’

 


To buy:

US

UK

6 thoughts on “Review of For You, Rowena (Kindra M. Austin) – Kristiana Reed

  1. Two schools of thought about reviews. One to be scathingly critical of any imperfection almost a compulsion to destroy. Two to highlight the best of the work and encourage others to read. I’m all for the second school of thought, there is nothing good comes from being talented at criticism in that way. Fortunately this book sounds like there’s a wonderful universe to it and it seemed a delight of a book to review. I liked that you didn’t include spoilers because sometimes it’s the excitement of the unknown that makes a book and I think you did well to avoid giving anything away. An excellent review of what promises to be a terrific book I can’t wait to buy my copy. Great post xo

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment